A password-protected directory or area is a folder which may be accessed only when a username and a password are provided, so no unauthorized individuals may see its content. This feature can be used for the main folder of a particular site or just for a particular subfolder in accordance with your requirements. For example, if you are creating a new site and you don't want people to see it before it's ready, you might want to prohibit the access to it completely, whereas if you want only some individuals to be able to access particular files, you can password-protect only a particular folder, while the remainder of the Internet site could be seen by everybody. Either way, a “403 Forbidden” error page shall appear in the event that the login details the visitor enters aren't correct. Even a direct link to a file will not work provided any folder above it is password-protected.
Password Protected Directories in Website Hosting
With the password protection tool provided with each website hosting package which we provide, you shall be able to shield any content which you have in your account with only a few mouse clicks. As the tool is an element of our ground breaking Hepsia Control Panel, it offers the exact same uncomplicated interface and you'll not need any special skills to use it. Once you visit the Password Protection section, you'll need to select one of the domains or subdomains which you have in the account and then decide whether the protection should be switched on for the main folder or for a subfolder. Then type in the username and the password you want and you will be all set. A little padlock symbol within the File Manager section will tell you that a particular folder is password-protected. In the same way you'll be able to include multiple usernames and passwords for the same folder if you would like several people to have their own login credentials.